prometheus query return 0 if no dataprometheus query return 0 if no data

In my case there haven't been any failures so rio_dashorigin_serve_manifest_duration_millis_count{Success="Failed"} returns no data points found. Our metrics are exposed as a HTTP response. I.e., there's no way to coerce no datapoints to 0 (zero)? Hello, I'm new at Grafan and Prometheus. This is the standard flow with a scrape that doesnt set any sample_limit: With our patch we tell TSDB that its allowed to store up to N time series in total, from all scrapes, at any time. or something like that. Also the link to the mailing list doesn't work for me. All rights reserved. In the screenshot below, you can see that I added two queries, A and B, but only . This is optional, but may be useful if you don't already have an APM, or would like to use our templates and sample queries. In AWS, create two t2.medium instances running CentOS. attacks, keep This single sample (data point) will create a time series instance that will stay in memory for over two and a half hours using resources, just so that we have a single timestamp & value pair. For that lets follow all the steps in the life of a time series inside Prometheus. @juliusv Thanks for clarifying that. scheduler exposing these metrics about the instances it runs): The same expression, but summed by application, could be written like this: If the same fictional cluster scheduler exposed CPU usage metrics like the Of course there are many types of queries you can write, and other useful queries are freely available. But before doing that it needs to first check which of the samples belong to the time series that are already present inside TSDB and which are for completely new time series. The Prometheus data source plugin provides the following functions you can use in the Query input field. Browse other questions tagged, Where developers & technologists share private knowledge with coworkers, Reach developers & technologists worldwide. A time seri